Passion, Burn

every_night_I_burn_for_you___by_chocolat21

.

I read a quote somewhere some time ago, something about “Find something you love to do, and you’ll never work a day in your life”. Considering most of the kind of work that we prefer to do out of love usually don’t/can’t pay the bills, that quote seems too idealistic, ain’t it? Or is it?

I spent most of these few days doing some freelance translating and tweaking and writing for our 911 For Dogs website – a volunteer-based dogs rights group . Me and my friends still have a long way to go to make the site internationally readable. Most of the content are still in Indonesian, which hopefully I can find the time to translate into English soon. I’ll write more about 911 For Dogs on later posts.

Anyhow, I was writing these articles about some of the dogs we’re trying to promote for adoption. There’s one old female German Shepperd who was found abandoned with poor health condition. Some others were the classic tales of over-breeding combined with no space leading to “Can I dump my dogs to the shelter?” stories.

The fact that writing about these dogs wasn’t the prime example of what you would call a fun writing still didn’t change the sense of excitement I had. In the midst of feeling sorry and heartbroken over their stories, I also noticed that I was being completely drawn in what I was doing. Between translating some work, tweaking the website and writing about them, hours had gone by to my surprise.

So I grabbed a bite to eat, cooked myself a simple fried rice from whatever leftover ingredients I could find in the fridge. I brought my late dinner back to my desk and ate in front of the laptop, typing in between bites and chews. And I was reminded how — if I was at the office doing office-work — I couldn’t wait to leave my cubicle and go to the cafeteria at 12 noon sharp! All the time there I’d be thinking I need to go home fast cause I couldn’t wait to continue working on this ‘real work’ every night.

Dreaming of doing what I love versus actually doing something that can help pay the bills, continues to become a struggle. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s torn between these two options. All I can say is, if you are already doing what you’re passionate about and you’re making at least enough money to survive on, you better be freakin’ grateful…cause not everyone is as fortunate.

~ by CuppySkully on February 17, 2011.

6 Responses to “Passion, Burn”

  1. OMG OMG I know that feeling SO well. The biggest thing I’ve ever wanted was just to make a great living doing what I loved. Seems like the most incredible luxury in the world. I guess that’s why I keep buying MegaMillions tickets.

  2. You must take a leap of faith and do it. And I speak from experience. I wasted too many years afraid that I wouldn’t survive financially doing something I loved. Well, I barely scraped through doing things I hated. So I took that leap of faith and, after a long and tough road, am making a living doing what I love. Fear of losing some imaginary something is all that stops us from taking the risk required to reach reward. Think really hard about what you really stand to lose by taking a risk doing what you love and making money while doing it. Chances are what you lose was never worth keeping to begin with.

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement, Scribbla. I think I’m one step closer in just doing that. I’m quitting my office job this month, so yaaayy me! šŸ˜€

  3. True ‘dat.

Leave a Reply

 
