A Not-So-Big Big World

Connect_by_TheInsaneJester

 

The thing about blogging is that you open yourself to complete strangers from wherever parts of the world, both knowingly and unknowingly.

How did I know that I would be laughing out loud reading about Vito’s mom’s daily adventures up there in Long Island, and be in awe about how similar the things I love with that of someone somewhere who has a sacred heart tattoo on her chest, or how my itching to get a new tattoo could somehow be brilliantly articulated by a stranger named Jade. And also little did I know that my silly list could inspire one Canadian to make his own list.

It’s the little things like this that help me feel okay again after a tough day at work, or when I thought my days can’t get anymore boring. There’s something weirdly comforting in knowing that the world -though big- is not that big after all. Realizing that we are essentially not that different regardless where we are, where we’re from, what culture we belong to, is somewhat cool.

And to do that by writing, is just awesome.

 

 

~ by CuppySkully on February 16, 2011.

12 Responses to “A Not-So-Big Big World”

  1. The world is a pretty small place sometimes, but for a second I thought it was ridiculous just how small. I was talking to a girl named Jade on here just last night. I was freaking out thinking what are the odds I pick a random blog to read and there is someone else I met randomly. It wasn’t the same Jade but for a second it was a cool thought.

  2. Well said!

  3. You are a wonderful package of inspiration and delight. I am glad we met πŸ™‚

  4. I couldn’t agree more. That coming from an African country most people haven’t even heard of. Just goes to prove your point even further.

  5. It is amazing. I started doing cartoons on my blog about 3 or 4 months ago, my 1st few were pretty lousy but I improved. Now people all over the world can read MY cartoons. Where else but the blogosphere could a total amateur cartoonist (if I may presume to consider myself in the league of a cartoonist) achieve that?? My wife was very opposed to me blogging due to the nature that total strangers could read stuff about us but recently she started her own blog now. Sometimes now something will happen & she’ll ask if I got a photo to post on my or her blog.

  6. its a big world out there, but also small, people see others, they just don’t decide to say hi or hello to acknowledge the person exist. weird. Its also refreshing when people post things others can relate to.

Leave a Reply

 
