Beauty is Skin Deep, But Tattoos Go All The Way to The Bone

I dont know if this is a sign or what… but these past two days I’ve come across blogs about tattoos. Needles to say -no that’s no typo- I’m feeling it again. I’m starting to – as jadezeller over at The Huge Apple said –  “…itching like a woman with herpes to get more”.

getting my cherry-blossoms done

 

I find myself scratching my head every time people ask me why do I like tattoos. “You have such fair skin, why make it look dirty like that??” It’s one of those things that you cant give a definite answer to. It’s either you get it or you dont. Either you’re a tattoo person, or you’re not. I guess if you’re trying to explain the how and why to those who are not tattoo people, no matter how scientific or how emotional or honest your explanations are, they just wont completely grasp the concept. To me, this is beauty. Blank skin is like….blank. Not blaming them, though. There are many things other people do that I cant understand either.

skullycupcake

 

The last piece I got was part of a lyric, a song by Jeffree Star, on my rib cage. That was wow. I love all my tattoos, regardless their size or how they look. But to have something done on your rib cage…any tattooed person can say that that spot is like the holy grail of spots. First of all, it’s not easy to get tattooed on an area that moves along as you breathe. And second, you know how it’s so ticklish when someone poke your ribs? Yeah…imagine that poke but with needles digging your skin.

Rib cage is the best...not!

 

So why do it, people ask. Well, there’s a quote that I tend to say, Your body is a temple, but how long can you live in the same house before you redecorate? I think it’s quite a sensible metaphor. And it turned out to be a great pick-up line too. Not that I was trying to pick anyone up, no. Anyway, if that answer doesn’t shed some light for you, hmmm…refer back to paragraph two, please.

What’s next? What’s next?? I’ll definitely get Sille’s paw print on my shoulder, to match Moshi’s paw I got years ago. It’ll be small but in terms of tattoos, size doesn’t matter. It’s the meaning that counts. I’ve been wanting to get Sille’s paw print for a long time, so it’s almost like a long-overdue promise kinda thing.

Moshi and his paw print

 

Am I crazy for thinking of getting another piece along with Sille’s paw print? Yikes! I’m just thinking that my last tattoo was done a year ago, right when I started this office job. And now that I’m leaving at the end of this month, perhaps another piece will kinda like make it full circle. Maybe… we’ll see. Maybe, I’ll surprise you.

 

 

~ by CuppySkully on February 11, 2011.

9 Responses to “Beauty is Skin Deep, But Tattoos Go All The Way to The Bone”

  1. I wish I could get the Geezer to get my paw print tatted on him. I can’t. He’s one of those old humans that can’t learn new tricks.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. I get it.

  3. Totally get it! I’ll be getting my 4th in March. I’m getting a bracelet done with the yellow/orange skin cancer ribbon and a band. All mine have very significant meaning. I wouldn’t get anything thats plain nonsense. Go for it girl and post up the pics when its done!

  4. Your dog’s paw print it the coolest tattoo I have ever seen. What a great idea.

    My next tattoo is going to be an old school heart with a banner for my son’s and husband’s names. I will definitely post pics when I get it.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
