An Ode to Carrie Bradshaw

writing_on_windows_by_everriviere

Great news! I’ve been offered the chance to guest-blog on Simply Solo! I know I’m still a long way to go from being like Carrie Bradshaw, but hey, it’s a cute start.

I stumbled upon Simply Solo the other day while I was browsing through the tags page. I was reading the latest post and realized that it was a guest blogger writing a piece specifically for Simply Solo as a featured post. I thought to myself, wow… I think… I’m interested. *grinning*

So I braved myself to email and ask how to be a guest blogger, or whether or not it’s even possible – not knowing whether you can ask or you have to be asked. But then I got a sweet reply saying that there will be an opening for me next month if I’m interested to write an original piece for Simply Solo. Interested? Uh-huh!!!!

And so the pressure’s on now. Ugh… *coldsweat*

What to write now?? So many topics, so little ideas?!! Come on now.. it’s not the time to have a writer’s block! Hmmm… I’ll sleep on it. Dont worry, cgryp.. I’ll write you something. If Carrie Bradshaw can do this for those Manolos, I can do this for…errrr…more traffic to my blog? Haha..

Okay, kidding aside, I do want to be like Carrie Bradshaw – minus the credit card debts, of course. How marvelous would it be to be making a living from writing?

I know it’s not all fun, Robert Benchley said “The free-lance writer is a man who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps”. But I guess, I’m just dreaming of finally being able to do what I want to do. To be paid for something that I actually enjoy doing. Yeah yeah I am a paid so-called copy writer at the moment, but it’s different. I want to write my own pieces, my own ideas, my own words…not writing something someone forced me to write.

Anyhow, this is a good start. At least, I can train this brain and fingers again. They have been in a deep zombie-mode for almost a year now. Oh, for the record, there’s no pay in being a guest blogger for Simply Solo. I just trully appreciate being given the chance to write. Simply thankful.

~ by CuppySkully on February 8, 2011.

8 Responses to “An Ode to Carrie Bradshaw”

  1. blow my mind,sniffy !!!! 😀
    u’ll do fine….:)

  2. Can’t wait to read your guest post, and I’m really happy that you emailed me. It should be fun! Sorry I can’t actually pay you… hahaha 🙂 Who needs money anyway? I do this for the glory and the fame (haha, just kidding. I have neither).

    Take care! Catherine (Simply Solo)

  3. I’m sure you’ll rock your guest blog. May I ask the country from which you hail in regards to your comment on my blog?

  4. ooh, freelance, that’s exciting! let me know when your post is up and i’ll check it out. oh, btw, i’ve moved from wordpress to blogspot, at least temporarily. i’m just returning to the blogging world after a bit of a hiatus, so i’m trying to find some regulars… ugh, blatant self-promotion…. anyway, hope you stop by again!

Leave a Reply

 
