Yawning in a Board Meeting

snapshot-cuppyskully-cubicle

Another day at the office without much to do. And tomorrow is Chinese New Year’s. So the fact that everyone is feeling that holiday-vibe already ain’t helping much with the level of boredom I’m feeling at the moment. I read a friend of mine tweeted “Boregasm — the climax state of being bored” some time ago, and I thought that was hilarious.

Okay, what are we writing today? I don’t care, really. I just wanna write. I’ve been trapped in this cubicle for far too long, being suggested to write things in ways that has no common sense. I’m using the word ‘suggested’ since I am a PAID Copywriter. If I wasn’t getting monthly paychecks from this so-called office perhaps I would’ve used more stronger words. (‘forced’, ‘tricked’, those words definitely ring a bell).

So, did I tell you that I’m quitting my job at the end of the month? Yeah. Surprise, surprise. When everybody else is in recession and getting layed off and searching for work, I’m happily resigning. Well, in relation to the stiletto boots post the other day, I know my decision raise some eyebrows. But I have my considerations and options, and being in a place where you feel like you can’t wait to go home or cringe at every task that you’re supposed to do, is not my idea of a place to spend 10 hours a day in.

I guess being a copywriter, I feel like writing. And I worked here wanting to write and thinking that my writing can be of a good use. And when the environment doesn’t allow me to create, to grow, or to simply be myself, than I -personally- feel that no amount of paycheck will be enough. I’m not trying to sound as if I don’t appreciate having a job or getting paid, but doing/being something that I’m not is not the way how I wanna live each day. Call me idealistic, or demanding, or difficult, or whiny, call me whatever. Maybe I am all of those, or maybe I’m not. All I know is I no longer wanna wake up dreading having to go to work even before I get out of bed.

Okay.. one intern just went home, and it’s only like an hour after lunch, he was citing “I have to go early because tonight is Chinese New Year’s Eve”. What???? If there’s anyone who should be going home early, it’s me! I’m the one who has to cook tonight’s New Year’s dinner, not that intern boy?!!

Hmmmphh… and I still have another 4 hours to kill before I can go off work.

~ by CuppySkully on February 2, 2011.

9 Responses to “Yawning in a Board Meeting”

  1. I can relate. I think I fell asleep in a meeting with my eyes open (or were they?). Lately, I’ve been catching myself nodding, fingers hovering over the keyboard (I’m a technical writer), kinda like a street junkie. Doesn’t happen when I’m doing my own writing!

  2. Love your blog. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. You’re welcome. I’ll be watching you!

  4. i go through phases when i daydream about quitting my job. but i’ve always been too scared. although it’s far from my dream job, i don’t mind it. i like the pay, the hours, and the benefits. besides, i have no idea what else to do. maybe if it gets to the cringe-inducing state, i’ll be motivated to do more than just daydream.

    how did you get into copywriting? it sounds like it could be fun for someone who enjoys writing; is it just your current employer you don’t like working for or the whole copywriting business you want out of?

    • It’s this employer. Maybe later after I’m officially out of that office I’ll write more in details about what burdens me being there. I’ll go back into doing freelance copywriting and translating after I’m out. I miss working from home without fixed working hour. Thank you for comments, love comments! πŸ™‚

  5. Dear CuppySkully
    Work is work. Mommy works so she can support her art habit and (of course) me and the brat Kozmo, oh yes, the Hairy slobbery sisters!
    Kitty Kisses
    Nellie

  6. Hehe…Nice!!

Leave a Reply

 
